About Ecuador

Welcome to Ecuador - discover South America's most diverse nation!

This fascinating country represents a gateway into some of South America's most diverse natural landscapes as well as providing insight into the region's rich history and culture. From the capital of Quito to the remarkable ecosystem of the Amazon rainforest to the mysterious Galápagos Islands, Ecuador is a must see for any intrepid explorers heading to South America.

Situated on the west coast of South America, Ecuador is bordered by both Colombia and Peru. With a total area of 283,561 square kilometres including the Galápagos Islands, it is one of the continent's smallest countries.

Continental Ecuador has very distinctive geographic regions – the Costa, situated on the coast of the Pacific Ocean; highland Andean Sierra, which runs through the centre of Ecuador; the lowland jungle of the Oriente, encompassing the forested slopes of the Andes and the Amazon Basin; and of course, the geological marvels of the Galápagos Islands, located 1,000km off Ecuador's west coast. ​

Discover some of the important information and facts about this wonderful equatorial nation below.